Looking For Reporters

Next month I will be opening my new (and still un-named) web-site. I am tired of the mainstream media outlets. I am looking to offer a real alternative to the AP and Reuters News agencies we use now.

Mainstream media is too aloof and passive in it’s approach. This is an era in which we need to  empower the people, not victimize them. We, the People, are not helpless against events, and our reporting should encourage this attitude of empowerment.

Economically, we are  facing tough choices as well.  We are in the beginning stages of a  depression which will likely be far worse than the one we faced in 1929, and we are far less able to withstand one today. Instead of generating fear and helplessness, reporting should empower the reader to meet these new challenges. So we are better prepared for the opportunities they hold as well.

As such, I am looking for reporters who are able to empower their readers into action. Reporters who write of events and people in their communities. In this news media site, I am prioritizing  news in which people are creating positive change in their communities.

Activism is the key element of this news media outlet I am proposing. News coverage of people becoming involved in their communities. Our news should encourage an activist population to become even more active in their communities.

This is true no matter where you live. Search for  people who are making a difference in your community and let their example guide the rest of us.

We need a news media which overthrows the old adage of “No good deed goes unpunished”. There are far more good people than bad in this world. Yet, what passes for news encourages people to fear their neighbors, rather than reach out to them.

You should also profit from your reporting. I am designing my site to encourage traffic to your site. So that we can all grow stronger together.

I am designing it so that no one controls it, for the news is far too important to be in the hands of any one person. Whoever controls the news, controls everyone else. Today, even our local newspapers are in the hands of a few companies.

This is an intolerable situation for a free society. We have the power to overcome the monopolies stranglehold on our news. We all have the ability to work together in order to affect change of a revolutionary nature. Change we so desperately need today.

I apologize for my sporadic posting as of late, but this has been taking up all of my time. I know this posting was done rather hastily; but I wanted you to know where I’ve been.

Peace,

Rev. Jim Lunsford

First Cannabist Church

11 responses to “Looking For Reporters

  1. Great idea. That is why I publish on wordpress.com so that no one control my opinions. Let me refer you to my article that takes direction as your “CNNWire-Al Jazeera collaboration: a proposal”

  2. wordpress may not be as open minded as one might think…here is a post from a blog that we recomended to our bloggers helping bloggers post:

    ngoldfarb said
    January 28, 2009 at Wednesday, January 28, 2009 e
    help everybody

    you have posted a link to my blog so maybe you like me

    somebody thought I was “divisive” and got wordpress to deactivate my blog

    now I canot post

    please send an email to support@wordpress.com asking to have me reinstated

    http://ngoldfarb.wordpress.com

    agree or not agree with ngoldfarbs post, doesn’t matter. We miss having the diverse views from the listed blog. Here is our response after we emailed wordpress:

    tothewire said
    January 29, 2009 at Thursday, January 29, 2009 e
    Really our blog has a quality that divides or separates! We are after all made up of authors all from different diverse political and religious back grounds! IT WORKS! We love our different views and the quality they bring to our blog!

  3. wordpress has not responded to our emails as of yet.

  4. tothewire said
    January 29, 2009 at Thursday, January 29, 2009 e
    The response to our email sent to wordpress:

    From: Mark – WordPress.com
    To: tothewires@yahoo.com
    Sent: Thursday, January 29, 2009 12:52:17 PM
    Subject: [WordPress #247123]: Bloggers helping Bloggers

    Hi,
    Any blog issues can only be discussed with the blog owner.

    Mark

    Keep in mind we didn’t ask for anyone to discuss reasons why the blog was deactivated, we only asked it be activated.

    WE HOPE OUR READERS SEND AN EMAIL REQUESTING THE REACTIVATION OF ngoldfarb BLOG!

    We love wordpress, and have been very pleased with working with them in the past, we hope they at least reconsider the deactivation.

    What happens when some reader decides they don’t like what they read on our blog, or your blog? Whats wrong with them just clicking their little mouse and going to a blog they do agree with?
    I call the people who can’t tolerate other views as being SHEEP! Sleeping sheep!

  5. Jim,
    All that ranting and I never complimented you on your post. Sorry. I do hope you find reporters and we are looking forward to reading your new adventurous news blog!!!

  6. I want to thank all of you for your passionate responses! I’m sorry I’ve been offline for so long, but I have been finalizing my vision for my new site. It won’t be on WordPress. I am creating a local newspaper, which encourages my local community to realize we all have the ability to thrive together if we all work together. I cover it briefly in my next post. I will only accept advertising from locally owned businesses. My sports pages will cover mostly local sporting businesses and local sports. Each area of interest a mini-mag for them. I want to change the way news is reported today. The internet hasn’t yet learned that all politics are local. All news is local as well. I would like to see a new news agency developed to fulfill this vision. The “Citizen Press” news agency. News in which we can promote ways for us to all help each other thrive. To be more independent, resourceful, and compassionate to each other. In short, I want to wage peace locally, and I want as many others as there are communities, to do the same. I am finalizing a way for all of us to thrive through our own abilities to help our communities thrive as well. I insist my success be dependent upon abilities to help others succeed. It is not quite finalized well enough to present it clearly in words, but it is well enough to present to you in deeds in a few weeks. Peace, Jim

  7. William Wright

    Local is a start.

  8. jim, i think this will be a good effort. i’ll stay tuned.

    to the wire, that is truly disturbing. unless someone’s free speech would not be protected by the 1st amendment, or is obscenely provocative (hateful, racist, sexist, etc), wordpress should not be censoring them…

    it is a tough line to walk between free speech and protecting hate speech. having not seen this bloggers page, i am sure it is not that extreme, but just a thought

  9. Sorry I haven’t responded, but we lost internet for a while. Router problems. Anyway, I am even more optimistic now than a few days ago. I’m sorry for the short response for now, but there is a lot of work to be done now. Will keep everyone posted as soon as I have something tangible to produce. Right now, it seems as if everything is in the preparation phase. I think this is working out better than I originally hoped. Peace, Jim

  10. my wife is pregnant!!!!

  11. Awesome! Congrats to both of ya. Peace, Jim

Leave a comment