American Health Care System: Greed and the American Way

I wasn’t really looking for this one area, but I thought I would share it once I found it. While it is a sort of “infomercial” video, it has many valid points, in both traditional medical aspects and in historical context.

Historically, the AMA was almost broke at one point. I know, it’s hard to believe that such a multi-billion dollar industry almost went under less than a hundred years ago, but it is true. John D. Rockefeller “saved” it though. The catch was, that the schools had to work around his prescription drugs. By the way, this was done in alliance with his partner I.G. Farben (famed makers of both Bayer Aspirin and Zylon B)

Naturally, they accepted the vast sums of money he offered. And now we have another multi-billion dollar industry. However, he himself used holistic medicine. Not a lot of faith in his own philanthropy is it?

It brings up the subject of greed and selfishness. Concepts counted on by Adam Smith and his world of scarcity. Even in his models, he understood that capitalism wouldn’t constantly destroy and re-create itself. Death, creating a new lease on life for capitalism.

However, scarcity is often created, it was created in many countries by the United States, and was our trade goal in the post-Civil War era. To create wants. Look in any major newspaper during this time period and you’ll find countless examples of such stories.

I find scarcity to have really grown up in the age of consumerism. Openly espoused in major trade journals in the 1950’s, it called for shoddier manufacturing to get people to replace the products they bought, and to saturate the existing market to increase profits. This ultimately became a cornerstone of our economic model in the United States. And has been at the fore-front of much of the suffering in the modern age.

Greed, is always an inherent aspect of the human psyche, but I believe it has to be cultivated in order to outpace another aspect of ourselves:  compassion. While I don’t believe that capitalism is inherently evil, it has a long way to go before we begin nurturing the compassionate aspects of ourselves to lessen the harm that the greedy aspects imposes upon the world. All for a dollar and power.

Think of the cost of your health insurance. Think of the corruption. And think of  whom your representative in Congress and the White House really represent.

Peace,

Rev. Jim Lunsford

First Cannabist Church

The purpose of all the major religious traditions is not to construct big temples on the outside, but to create temples of goodness and
compassion inside, in our hearts.

-His Holiness The Dalai Lama, “The Good Heart”

4 responses to “American Health Care System: Greed and the American Way

  1. Only a cursory reading of Kennan’s Policy Planning Study 23 clearly points to the creation of markets ripe for domination. A policy followed by successive governments of both major parties in the United States.
    The collaboration between mega-business and government makes a mockery of so-called free-trade. Hence the thievery like the health care profiteering you are highlighting here.

  2. Thank you. I am sorry it’s taken me so long to respond, but I’ve been raising hell on the Obama-Biden discussion board. It’s starting to get real interesting there with so many people flooding the site demanding change. The revolution is here, come and join us.

  3. Jim I read an article you wrote (a very good one by the way) here at this site…http://the3lb.com/2007/09/13/a-message-from-the-1st-cannabist-church/

    But when I tried to find it here, I couldn’t. Anyway, it touched my heart.

  4. Yes, I’d had probably a hundred posts that I decided to delete. They were from a period in my life when depression seemed to rule my life and my perspective on life. This blog is a new start, and deserved a new viewpoint; totally divorced from my old perspective, one more positive and constructive. I am glad you liked it, though they all had such a sad tone to them I could barely stand to read them anymore. Thanks again, Jim

Leave a Reply

