On Opportunity for Freedom

If you’ve read any of my posts, I’m pretty sure you know how disgusted I am with both political parties. And no, I did not vote. If there are only two parties then there is only one party. It would be unpatriotic of me to participate in such a fraudulent, and treacherous, scheme. Our candidate choices are all fixed, so why would I choose to appoint a traitor?

But today, I noticed the web site that is put up by the Obama-Biden team. As you may have read my last post, the number one question asked was in favor of legalizing marijuana. That was the most popular one. Many of the first fifty questions I went through addressed the same issue along different lines. It was a nation telling the President we’ve had enough of the war on drugs. It is time to stop.

This election,  I paid more attention to the how the election played out, than to who won it. The people voted for a change. But I don’t think it’s the change his backers wanted. The people also voted, in every state that addressed it on the ballot, marijuana legalization issues. Marijuana legalisation received a higher percentage of the vote than Obama.

This President-elect is clearly very internet savvy. He was really elected through the power of the internet. Or rather, his ability to use the power of the internet. It says a lot of him,. He has the potential to change the course of history. Or lead us even deeper into despair.

I think he is also bright enough to understand what We, the people, demand from our government. An end to this crazy, wasteful, fascist state. A country that has had every government office for sale for years. A country that stops trying to build a economic or military empire, and remembers it’s mission; to serve as a shining light of freedom around the world.

We are tired of this prison/legal industrial machine. How does having 25% of the world’s prisoners shine freedom anywhere?  How does the “Patriot Act”, or “The Military Commissions Act of 2006” serve this end? How does invading Afghanistan, and overthrowing her reform minded government serve us? Or Iraq? Or our president bush’s steadfast resolve to sweep any investigations into 9/11 under the table? We, the people, want these changes now.

Spending all our wealth on war, when we should be educating the minds of our children has been the norm for our government. I suspect that if we swapped the war budget and the education budget we would have a country that didn’t need much of a military. And we would, ALL of us, doubtless have a higher standard of living. This is a change we would all want.

We have the internet. At least for now. Government is becoming far more transparent. I think the people are getting just a little fed up about it.  You might as well start running a more transparent government. It will happen anyway. There are too many patriots angry at this governments total disregard for all of the principles we grew up on. I think that the President-Elect is smart enough to know this. And if he’s not, he is definitely smart enough to have someone around who is smart enough.

If you read this post (and no, not a bunch of people do read it), please spread the word about the Obama-Biden site. Keep tabs on the votes and the issues that people are concerned about. Write them concerning your vision for America. Yes, they have that section. When the site comes up for accepting new questions, ask them. And vote on the ones that are there as well.

Your vote is your own. For myself, I will vote on this site. I will vote for other people”s rights as well as my own. I think if we all fought for each other’s rights, we wouldn’t have to worry so much about fighting at all. But that could just be me.

I am off to go study the questions, and to formulate some questions of my own. I’m going to post my questions and ask for your help in this as well. Suggestions, as well as offering your own questions, are greatly appreciated. I think this President-Elect is aware he has little choice in his actions if the people stand firm. I also think he just might appreciate our standing firm. It helps to give one courage when you know you have the strength of a nation behind you. And he will surely need it.

Rev. Jim Lunsford

First Cannabist Church

Only the fearless are free.

5 responses to “On Opportunity for Freedom

  1. Pingback: On Opportunity For Freedom « Blue Collar Manifesto

  2. hmm, I didn’t vote either, because I sold some weed and am a convicted felon in Arizona,

  3. So much for the redemption being of our christian foundation in government. I think we need more freedom from religion, as well as freedom of religion. If the christians followed their own doctrine, your situation wouldn’t be a life without possibility of parole on the exclusion from politics. Peace bro, Jim

  4. thanks for sharing the link- I hadn’t heard about it previously. also:

    pending all our wealth on war, when we should be educating the minds of our children has been the norm for our government. I suspect that if we swapped the war budget and the education budget we would have a country that didn’t need much of a military. And we would, ALL of us, doubtless have a higher standard of living. This is a change we would all want.

    is 100% right.
    reminds me of the bumper sticker:

    I await the day when the military has to hold a bake sale to buy a bomber, and the schools have all the money they need….

  5. Your welcome. Also, I just finished watching a movie called American Drug War: The Last White Hope. It’s twelve parts, but it’s going to be an entire post. As you know, I believe the Drug War is the problem with much of our society. Not the drugs. There is such a wealth of information out there that the people just don’t hear. Thanks for all your patience, Jim

Leave a Reply

